In the Anglican Province of America, the government of the church is shared by the clergy and laity alike, not only in the local parish and diocese, but in the national church as well. The Provincial Synod is the national governing body in which the bishops, clergy and laity sit together to determine the policies of the day-to-day life of the church in this country. It meets once every three years.

The rules governing our life as a church are found in the Constitution and Canons of the Anglican Province of America.

Between meetings of Provincial Synod, the Provincial Council has the charge of implementing the policies as decided by the Synod. The Presiding Bishop is considered to be the executive and administrative head of the church. The Provincial Council is made up of the Presiding Bishop, the Secretary and the Treasurer of Provincial Synod, another bishop of the church, two priests, four laymen, and one representative from each of the several dioceses.